Holliston

Let me start off by saying I don’t really like sitcoms. I find it hard enough to relate to people in real life, and I find myself unable to care or empathize with neurotic people on TV. I mean yeah, I liked The Cosby Show, Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, and Martin…..so maybe I only like sitcoms with black people in them? But then again, I don’t like A Different World, so maybe that’s not entirely true, but in any event, I like Holliston over all.

Holliston is created by and stars Hatchet series director Adam Green and co-stars his friend/fellow director Joe Lynch. They play BFF’s who host horror films on a cable access channel owned by wanna-be glam rocker Lance Rockitt (played by Dee Snider). They dream of directing a horror movie together in an effort to escape from life in the titular Massechutteus town. Adam’s world is turned upside when the realization that his high school sweetheart whom he hasn’t gotten over is moving back to town….and in with Joe’s girlfriend. The show focuses on the four of them and the misadventures they collectively and seperately find themselves in. Oh, and Oderus Urungus from GWAR is Adam’s imaginary friend.

Essentially Holliston is The Big Bang Theory for horror geeks. That should tell you whether or not this show is for you. We get lots of gory homages to various horror films, Victor Crowley from the Hatchet films makes an appearnce, and quite a few cameos from horror movie stars are to be found (Bill Moseley has a lot of fun playing a seedy store owner).

When I first started watching it, the show grated on my nerves a bit. It has this cutesy “isn’t this cool, a horror sitcom!” thing going on, but it got better as it went along and I had fun. One thing about the show that will always grate on my nerves though is the laugh track. I’m 31 years old, and as such I feel I don’t need to be told when to laugh, thank you very much.

If anyone else had created this show (stupid hypothetical, I know) I probably wouldn’t like it as much. I really like Joe and Adam as people, especially from the fan commentary they did on the special edition of Friday the 13th part 4: The Final Chapter, and I’ve enjoyed their films that I’ve seen. They have a geniune love for the genre, and have managed to work in a Scanners reference into primetime television.

For that I thank them.

I’ll keep tuning into the show.

Holliston airs Tuesday nights on FearNet, and anytime on FearNet on Demand.

2 Comments

  1. Nice post. This sounds like a show I would enjoy.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

