GOJIRA — Live at The Rave 8/19/2012

So I have a new fave band now, a metal band from France called GOJIRA.

I started listening to them about a month or so ago really hardcore, around the time my uncle passed away, and it has helped inspire me to get my head straight through that and other issues.  Me and fellow blogger JP Thorn have been raving about them for a while in private super secret bro-code conversations, and I was at work Friday morning when I received a text from him telling me that GOJIRA was playing at The Rave on Sunday night.  I promptly quit my job, came home, and ordered tickets for me and my girlfriend to attend.

This is a decision I will not regret!

Before the show.

It was an amazing concert.  GOJIRA played in the bar room part of the The Rave, so it was a small area, especially for a band used to playing at sold out stadiums.   They were total class-acts all the way and treated it no different than a big show.  A couple bands, Everything Must Die and Car Bomb opened up for the guys and played their hearts out.  I wasn’t much for either of them, but I admired their passion for what they played.  I did laugh at EMD playing a song called “Kill Your Family”, and “Adolph Hipster”.  Around 10:15, GOJIRA took the stage and melted our faces off!!!

I think this was during Backbone.

They started off with one of their older tracks, which name I don’t recall, and then launched right into “The Heaviest Matter of the Universe” followed by personal favorite “Backbone”.  Both songs created a huge mosh pit near the front of the stage.  It was an amazing sight to behold.  They then played “Clone”, “L’Enfant Sauvage”, and a few other songs.  They had to take a little break after “Heaviest Matter” because Jean-Micheal, became sick on his stomach.  Lead singer Joe Duplantier told the crowd what was going on and that for some reason they were calling Jean-Micheal “Patrick” today, and asked us to chant “Patrick!  Patrick!” when he returned from vomiting.  Finally, “Patrick” came back to a huge ovation, and the band never let up.

Patrick!  Patrick!

Joe asked the crowd how many people bought their albums to raise their hands.  A decent amount showed their hands.  Then he asked how many people stole their albums, to a lesser show of hands, but one guy near the front of the stage raised his and said “I stole it then I bought it!”, and Joe said “You bought it then, mother fucker!”.  He also told the people who stole the album he appreciated their honesty.  It was pretty cool of him not to be a jerk to them.

I’m not sure why this turned out so blurry.

After their final song, instead of “WE LOVE YOU MILWAUKEE, GOODNIGHT!” and immediately leaving the stage to get the hell outta there, Joe stuck around on stage to shake hands with the members of the audience.  I got to be one of those and I told him “THANK YOU!” for the awesome show, and he smiled at me before moving to the next person.  It was really cool of him to take that time out for his fans and it was much appreciated by us as well.

Towards the end of the set.

They informed us that they will be returning to Milwaukee early next year and I am VERY much looking forward to it!  If you ever get a chance to see GOJIRA in concert, do not hesitate.  They are class acts and one of the few bands that sound just as good live as they do on their albums.  The show was amazing and I can not wait to see them again!

I was trying to record them playing “Backbone”, but a huge pit was breaking out and I wasn’t trying to get the camera broken. I did get a clip of it though and here it is.

The concert let out around 12:20 or so, and I returned home to catch some sleep so I could be up in time to get ready for work at 6 a.m.  I honestly couldn’t sleep because I was too hyped up.  The aural assault was lodged into my mind and the concert kept playing on a loop.  I finally fell asleep around 2 a.m. or so, kinda, and woke up tired, but still hyped, and wound up having a great day at work.  It was a phenomenal experience and I would do it again in a heart beat.

6 Comments

  1. Awesome review of the show, man. They seem to be the type of band that is so good, they can play in any setting, under any condition, and still perform like the masters at their craft that they are. As you know, I saw Gojira in Toronto a couple of weeks ago at an outdoor festival and they kicked serious ass under less than ideal conditions and they had the big, muddy, wet crowd at their fingertips.

    I can totally relate to what you said about coming home and being too hyped up to sleep. I’ve been to a ton of live shows and this still happens to me after a great concert. If you have to work the next day you pretty much have to go into it knowing your next day might be fucked due to lack of sleep.

    Great write-up! Wish I had been there.

    • Hell yes man! I have no regrets about the late night and am totally going to do it again when they return.

  2. ” I promptly quit my job..” The way you worded that was pretty funny.

  3. bahahaha…I was that motherfucker in the front row.
    Awesome review. You got my buddy square in frame on that first pic.

    I had the CD on order and it didn’t arrive fast enough so I downloaded it on release day 😛

    • Awesome! Too bad The Rave didn’t take any pictures, it was an AMAZING show!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

