Resident Evil 6: First thoughts.

So I picked this up Tuesday night and I’m about 3 or 4 hours into it so far, and I must say that it is a return to form.  As of the week before last I hadn’t played part 5, so I scored a copy of it on the cheap and blasted through it rather quickly.  It was not a bad game, but since RE 4 came out the series has been more of an action series and much less of a horror one.

The fan backlash has been rather immense and Capcom seems to have taken this to heart in the newest entry.

I’ve been playing the Leon Kennedy campaign first because Leon is the mother fucking man. I don’t really give a shit about Chris and I have no clue who Jake is. So fuck those two for the time being. So anyways, the game feels like a nostalgia trip for part 2. I loved part 2 immensely, that and Metal Gear Solid were two of my most played video games in the PS1 era (along with Parappa the Rapper and Blood Omen: Legacy of Kain).

The game starts you off after Leon has to kill the POTUS because he got turned into a zombie. Evidently he was giving a speech at a university in a town called Twin Oaks when another C-virus epidemic took over. We’re back in classic RE2 territory here. You are dealing with REAL zombies, not just infected townsfolk, like you were in 4 and 5. You are also in a claustrophobic setting with gut munchers wanting to kill you. However, you have the firepower to deal with all the threats, unlike in RE2. And if you run out of ammo because you suck at shooting, you can press another button to use physical attacks on the brain eating bastards. Leon is a zombie asskicker and seriously brinsg the pain. He can do a bull dog that slams the zombie’s head into the ground and busts that shit open like a ripe melon on a warm summer’s day. And if they are near a wall, he can grab them by the back of the head and WHAM! slam their face right into the wall to finish them off. Zombies on the ground can be easily killed by stomping their face in. Headshots are really gory this time around, and a neat trick is to try to decapitate the zombie by shooting it in the neck until it’s head comes off in a river of red gooey goodness. Oh yes, this game is very violent.

Another thing I like about this is that you are in a town under siege like in RE2. Unlike your experiences Raccoon City though, this is way more intense. Cars explode and crash all around you, you’ll team up with other survivors barricaded in various places to hold off the zombie horde, only to watch them all get taken down and dispatched in violent ways at the hands of the undead. The tone of the game is very brutal and bleak, living up to the tag line of “No Hope Left”.

After I finish the game I’ll do a full review but I just wanted to let you guys know that this is a horror game well worth playing. It brings the atmosphere and gore that have been missing from the series for a long, long, while and I have enjoyed my time with the game a lot so far. Which isn’t to say I believe it’s perfect, some of the puzzles are really stupid and make no sense to a real life setting….but whatever. RE has always been purely in B-movie territory, so I will forgive the stupid shit for the time being and focus on the joyful noise that the music of my soul makes each time I blow a walker’s head off.

1 Comment

  1. Sounds good. I’m glad the series seems to be going back to its roots more.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

