Frozen (2013)

Frozen-2013

Based loosely on the 1997 Madonna song, Frozen tells the tale of a young woman named Elsa (Idina Menzel)  who for reasons never explained has the mutant ability to turn everything around her into a winter wonderland.   She also happens to be the heir to her families kingdom but she has a snafu and almost inadvertently kills her younger sister Anna (Kristin Bell).  After that incident, Elsa shuts herself in her room until the time comes for to ascend to the throne.  Not having seen her sister for so long, Anna tries to reconnect with her and Elsa’s repressed feelings get the better of her and she ends up putting the whole kingdom under ice during the middle of Summer (global warming  believers would love this part of the film).

Elsa goes off and makes herself a cool ice castle in the middle of the woods while Anna goes to look for her with the help of the snow man Olaf (Josh Gad) and new friend Hans (Santino Fontana), who somehow makes his money off of finding blocks of ice.   They find out only an act of true love can break the curse and bring the sun back to the land, because you’re frozen….when you’re hearts not open.

I didn’t know much about this film before seeing it other than it was a CGI Disney flick, so while back home on Christmas break I decided it could be a fun way to kill a couple hours with my mom and fiancee.  Plus, I heard it had a really neat Mickey Mouse cartoon beforehand.  Let’s talk about that for a second:  the cartoon is well worth the price of admission.  It incorporates old school animation with CGI in a way that is simply amazing.  Mickey is on a movie screen in Steamboat Willy type animation before the evil Pete kidnaps Minnie and throws him out of the movie screen, at which point Mickey becomes CGI.  The rest of the hilarious cartoon has Mickey trying to get back in the movie screen cartoon and pulling various pranks on Pete.

As far as my feelings on Frozen, I had no idea it was going to be about some damn princesses.  So that was kinda not my thing, but the animation was awesome and it is pretty fun for a holiday film.  I get a bit soft during this time of year and find myself watching ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas in the evenings and while I don’t normally like this type of film, this type of year predisposes me to be kinder than I might usually be towards it….so it worked for me.  I liked the movie.

Don’t judge me.

You’ve probably noticed the lack of pics from the film and that’s because I love you guys, but not enough to risk Disney suing me, not that they’d get any money from me anyways because I’m poor and destitute, but it’s still a headache I’d like to avoid thank you very much.

Here is the song that the movie is based on.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

