O.H.M.A.D. 2015 Day 4: Christine (1983)

christine-movie-poster-1020467318
I’m going to be honest and say I’m not really a big fan of this film although I see the appeal. This is a total quickie review because I don’t have much to say about it.  High school outcast Arnie Cunningham (Keith Gordan from The Strain, and Dressed to Kill) gets a new lease on life after buying and restoring a ’58 Plymouth Fury. As it turns out the car, which Arnie has named Christine, is possessed by an evil spirit with a vicious jealous streak.  Arnie goes from nerd to cocky narcissist in 0 to 60 and alienates his friends and family in the process who want to bring Arnie back to them, and end the obsession he has with the car.  Christine doesn’t take too kindly to that and responds by running over a whole bunch of people.

christineJohn Carpenter directs this Stephen King adaptations and as far as King movies go, Christine is without a doubt a classic and one of the best.  In a lot of ways Christine is the perfect horror movie for non-horror movie fans.  The teenage appeal of having an amazing car like a ’58 Ford is undeniable, and it’s lack of gore and genuine sense of tension make it “safe” enough for family viewing.  I appreciate it for these things. I first saw the film in second grade and was out of school to help mend a broken leg.  In one of the oddest ways to break a bone ever, a tombstone fell on my leg snapping both the tibia and fibia.  One of my best friends dad’s owned a small video store and was kind enough to bring me movies to watch.  Christine was one of them.  Even back then, while eight years old and doped up on pain meds, this film never really clicked with me.  I’ve always wanted to like it, but it’s just never happened.  Today’s viewing was no exception.  Everyone in it is a competent thespian and have had very fruitful careers that are still on-going.  One of the things I do love about Christine is the cars taste in music.  The classic rock and roll soundtrack used in the film (including Bad to the Bone, and Beast of Burden) gives it a sense of timelessness.. Also, I love the tracks the car plays to it’s victims.  They add a dark sense of humor to the film, and help give Christine a sense of characterization.  The best part to me about this film is it’s lack of CGI.  The scenes of Christine putting herself back together are amazing especially considering it’s all practical effects.  The film is definitely cool and I end up watching bits and pieces of it each fall on AMC’s Fear Fest for the sake of tradition, but Christine will never be one of my favorites.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

